Jean Jacques ASKENASY

 Jean Jacques ASKENASY , M.D., Ph.D.

Department: Department of Neurology
Institution: The Assuta Hospital
Address: 20 Habarzel
City, State, ZIP: Tel-Aviv
Country: Israel
Telephone: 972-9-9543354  /  972-9-9543242
FAX: 972-9-9572767
E-mail address:

Curriculum Vitae

BORN : Nov. 13, 1929


School of Medicine – University of Cluj –Roumania – MD 1954
Residence of Neurology – Neurological Institute of the Academy – 1956
University Parhon Bucharest – D. Sc. – 1969
Researcher in Neuroscience at Weitzman Institute 1974-1975.
Sackler School of Medicine TAU. Lecturer and Senior Lecturer 1976-79 
Mount-Sinai School of Medicine NY University- Associated Prof. 1981
Pierre et Marie Curie University Professeur Agrege – Clinique Charcot 1986
Sackler School of Medicine TAU.  Professor of Neurology 1995  


Chairman of the Neurological Department at CFR2 Hospital Bucharest
Chairman of the Sleep Medicine Institute at Sheba Medical Center
President of the Israeli Sleep Medicine Association

VicePresident of the Asian Sleep Research Society
Editor in Chief of the ASRS Newsletter 
Member of the Appeal Commission - Court of Law - Rishon Lezion
Member of the Tel-Aviv Journalists Association
Member of the Superior Appeal Commission for Disabled IDF Staff

Chairman of the Superior Appeal Commission - Ministry of Health
Chairman of the Superior Appeal Commission of the Social Security
Membre d'honneur de la Societe Francaise de Neurologie

Associated Member of the American Academy of Neurology
Honorary Member of the Academy of Men of Science of Romania
Honorary Member of the Roumanian Society for Cell Biology
Member of the Editorial Boards of:
1.Int.J.of Sleep Medicine
2.Int. J. of Neurobiology
3.Int. J. Sleep Research On Line
4.Journal of Rhinology
5.Magazin Clipa
Constitutive Member of the Israeli Chapter of Forensic Sciences
Member Honoris Causa of the Roumanian Academy
Member Honoris Causa of the Barcelona Academy
Professor of Forensic Science at the Faculty of Law Buchmann, TAU.


1964- La Medaille des Journées Internationales de Grenoble - France-
1981- Honor Citizen of the City of Yeruham – Israel-
1995- Medaille Piere Castaigne – France-
1997- Merit Certificate of the Ministry of Education of Israel
1999- Officier de l'Ordre de Mono – Togo-
2001- Diplome d'honneur de l'AMIF – France
2003- Meritul Academiei Romane – Romania
2012- Crystal Trophy & Diploma of Excellence of Medical Life Gala 2012- Romania
2013- Decorated by the President of Romania with "Meritul Sanitar" rank "Officer"
2016- Membre d'Honneur de l'Academie Romania
2017- Comandeur de l'Ordre de Mono - Togo
2018- Membro Honorario de la Real Academia Barcelona
2018- Prize of Excelence "Augustin Buzura" -Romania
2019- Prize Pierre Werner
2019- National Bank of Romania Centenar Medal

Received his doctorate in medicine degree cum laude from the University of Cluj in Romania 1954. Appointed instructor of neurology in his 5 ler School of Medicine. Residence of Neurology- Neurological Institute of Academy 1956. Doctor in Science  at the University C.I.Parhon Bucharest, 1969. Chairman of the dpt. of Neurology at the Univeristary Hospital CFR II Bucharest. In 1973 neurologist at Ichilov Hospital-Tel-Aviv University. Researcher in Neuroscience at Weitzman Institute 1974-1975.In 1981 was appointed Associated Prof. of Neurology at Mount-Sinai School of Medicine NY University, where he worked together with Prof. Melvin Yahr and Prof. Eliot Weitzman on the project Sleep in Parkinsonian patients. He subsequently was nominated Director of the Sleep Medicine Center at the Sheba Medical Center. In this quality he organized the courses in sleep medicine at the Tel-Aviv University. In 1986 was nominated Professeur Agrege at  Pierre et Marie Curie University, Clinique Charcot. In 1995 was nominated Clinical Professor of Neurology at Sackler School of Medicine TAU. Professor of Forensic Science at the Faculty of Law Bucmann, Tel-Aviv University.  Author of 13 books, 22 chapters in books, 103 original scientific articles & cas reports in the field of Neurology and Sleep Medicine, 212 active participations in National and International ongresses. 45 invited lectures.